I think all of us can say we’re a little bit entranced by Alice in Wonderland, whether it’s the old animated Disney movie, the newer one directed by Tim Burton, or the book Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland itself. Lewis Carroll truly created a masterpiece when he penned the novel back in the 19th century, and it’s become a part of so many lives. But once you’ve read it so many times, you might start craving something new! Check out these 7 books to read if you loved Alice in Wonderland.

Books to read if you loved Alice in Wonderland - definitely adding all of these to my list! | Modest swimwear inspired by Alice | limericki.com

1. Coraline by Neil Gaiman

You may have seen the movie adaptation of this book, but it’s definitely still worth the read. Little Coraline discovers a passageway leading to a darker, more interesting version of her own world that intrigues her – until she realizes she can’t get back.

2. Jabberwocky by Daniel Coleman

Since you love the stories about Wonderland, chances are you may have also read Lewis Carroll’s poem The Jabberwocky. In this novel, the author expands the story told in the poem line by line. You’ll bond with the characters and by the end, you’ll have an emotional attachment to both the book and the poem.

Books to read if you loved Alice in Wonderland - definitely adding all of these to my list! | Modest swimwear inspired by Alice | limericki.com

3. Alice Have I Been by Melanie Benjamin

Have you ever wondered about the real Alice, the one who inspired the story? The author of this book blends fantasy and fiction to bring Alice Liddell into the spotlight and share the story of how she could never truly leave Wonderland behind.

4. The Looking Glass House by Vanessa Tait

If you’re looking for another connection to the original Alice in Wonderland, this is a good place to find one. This book was written by the great-granddaughter of the Alice who inspired the book, and is a historical fiction piece on what happened before Alice “fell down the rabbit hole.”

5. The Lost Princess by George MacDonald

Making your way through this fairy tale will have you entranced, both by the story and by the beautiful illustrations in the newest edition. Two spoiled girls, one a princess and one a shepherd’s daughter, encounter a mysterious wise woman and set out on a journey.

Books to read if you loved Alice in Wonderland - definitely adding all of these to my list! | Modest swimwear inspired by Alice | limericki.com

6. The Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis

Let’s be honest: this is the first series you should be reading if you haven’t yet. Young siblings find a portal to another world at the back of their wardrobe, and the magic only begins there. Follow their adventures through all seven books in the series and you’ll still be wishing for more.

7. Five Children and It by E. Nesbit

While playing, five children find a sand fairy who will grant them collectively one wish per day. The wish only lasts until sunset, but it still finds a way to cause disastrous circumstances each time. This one is written as more of a children’s book, but those of all ages will enjoy it!

Books to read if you loved Alice in Wonderland - definitely adding all of these to my list! | Modest swimwear inspired by Alice | limericki.com

Have you read any of these books? Which is your favorite? Leave a comment and let us know, and then don’t forget to check out all our new swimwear arrivals, inspired by Alice in Wonderland!

Nicole

Author: Nicole

Meet Nicole, one of the three sisters who own Lime Ricki. She is partial to gingham, the color yellow and wishes she had more time to travel the world with her darling daughters (three of them!) and her handsome husband. Nicole subscribes to more magazines than she has time to read and is a collector of cheap pens -- Pilot G2 Ultra Fine & Le Pen by Marvy Uchida are her current favorites.

 photo EMAIL SIGNUP-BLOG-15_zpsuc6eew61.png

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *